See plans and pricesSee plans

All guides

How many times can you retake the TEAS test?

ATI, which makes the TEAS, does not cap how many times you can take it and does not require a waiting period of its own; your nursing or allied health program sets the limit (ATI: how many times can I take the TEAS). Among the 25 programs in our list that publish a retake rule, most allow 2 to 4 attempts in a year or an application cycle, with 14 to 60 days between them, and a few count only your first attempt. Every retake is the full exam, all four sections, at the full fee.

So the real answer depends on one page: your program's admissions page. Below are the rules we found on 25 of them, what ATI itself says, which score counts, and how to use the weeks between attempts so the next one is your last.

Who sets the TEAS retake limit?

Your program does, not ATI. ATI's help center sends you to the school you are applying to for its deadlines and the number of attempts it allows, and notes that many schools set a 30-day wait before you can test again (ATI: how soon can I retake). ATI itself asks only that you wait at least 48 hours after an exam before you schedule a retake through ATI, so its system can post your result.

That split matters in three ways:

TEAS retake rules at 25 programs

These are the retake rules programs state on their own pages, the same pages behind what TEAS score you need. "Cycle" means one application period. Check the linked page before you book: programs change these rules, and the newest page wins.

ProgramAttempts allowedWait between attemptsOther rule
Ivy Tech, Nursing ADN (IN)4 in 12 months (from Dec 1, 2025)14 daysHighest score counts
Ivy Tech, Medical Imaging (IN)4 in 12 months14 daysHighest counts; late scores don't
Hennepin Technical College, PN (MN)2 before semester start; 4 in 12 monthsNot statedIn person
St. Louis Community College, RN (MO)3 in 12 months30 daysWithin 2 calendar years of applying
Owensboro CTC, ADN (KY)3 per calendar year4 weeksIn-person proctored only
Middlesex Community College, Nursing (MA)3 per calendar year, 4 per 3 years45 daysTaken within 12 months
Northern Virginia CC, RN (VA)3 per calendar yearOne monthScores good 3 years
Volunteer State CC, RN (TN)3 in 2 years before deadline60 daysOverall score part of ranking
UMass Boston, BSN transfer (MA)3 in 2 yearsNot statedTaken within 2 years
Washtenaw CC, RN (MI)3 in 5 yearsNot statedMost recent passed score per subject
Joliet Junior College, RN (IL)Once a semester; 3 in 5 yearsOne semesterScores do not expire
Pikes Peak State College, ADN (CO)2 in 12 monthsNot statedScores within 365 days
Greenville Technical College, RN (SC)2 in the year before applyingNot statedApproved proctor site
Georgia Highlands College, ASN (GA)2 per cycleNot statedWithin 1 year of deadline
Navarro College, ADN (TX)2 per admissions periodNot stated
Modesto Junior College, ADN (CA)2 on the latest TEAS versionNot stated
Northwestern Oklahoma State, BSN (OK)First try plus one retake30 daysRemediation if below minimums
Heartland Community College, RN (IL)One retake through Heartland per periodNot statedHighest score used
Southwestern College, ADN (CA)One retake, after remediationNot stated
Mohave Community College, RN (AZ)Not stated30 daysIn person
Commonwealth University, ASN (PA)Once per calendar yearNot statedReport by May 1
College of the Canyons, ADN (CA)First attempt only countsn/aFollows state chancellor guidance
Dallas College, ADN (TX)No overall limit; 4 a year60 days recommendedLatest score counts; good 2 years
Nevada State University testing (NV)3 at NSU (first try plus 2 retakes)30 daysLater attempts through ATI
Bucks County CC, Nursing (PA)3 in the year before Feb 1530 daysLater scores not considered

Three patterns stand out. First, "three a year" is common but far from universal: the same list runs from first-attempt-only to four a year. Second, a waiting period of 30 days is the single most common gap where one is stated, but Ivy Tech allows 14 and Volunteer State asks for 60. Third, several programs count attempts over long windows (two, three or five years), so a rushed attempt this year can still cost you a chance next year.

How long do you have to wait to retake the TEAS?

ATI requires no waiting period, only 48 hours before you can schedule your next attempt through ATI. Your program's wait is the one that counts, and a score from an attempt taken too soon can be refused: Northwestern Oklahoma State says a TEAS taken before its 30-day gap will not be accepted.

From the table, the stated waits are:

Even where no wait is required, test again only when your practice scores say you are ready. Thirty days is about the least time it takes to move a weak section, and it lines up with the most common school rule.

Which TEAS score counts when you retake: highest, latest or first?

Again, your program decides, and the three answers all exist:

Where the latest score counts, a retake is a risk as well as a chance: a worse day replaces a better score. Where only the first counts, your retake may help at another school but not this one. Ask the admissions office if the page does not say.

Can you retake just one section of the TEAS?

No. Every TEAS attempt is the whole exam: Reading, Math, Science and English, 170 questions in 209 minutes, with a new registration and a new fee (Dallas College: "all four sections must be retaken"). What some programs do is count sections separately, as Washtenaw does, so a section you already passed may not need to rise again. Even then you sit all four, so don't let a passed section slide while you work on the weak one. For how the sections and minutes break down, see what is on the TEAS test.

If you retake the TEAS, is it the same test?

It's the same exam: the same four sections, content areas, question types and timing. ATI uses more than one form of the test and adjusts scores for the differences between forms, which is why your section scores don't add up to your total (ATI: how the TEAS is scored). ATI doesn't publish which form you will get, so don't plan on seeing the same questions again. Plan on the same skills: the content areas on your score report are what a retake tests.

How much does a TEAS retake cost?

The same as your first attempt. Registering with ATI to test online, or with PSI at a test center, costs $120 plus sales tax, and each retake is a new registration at that price (ATI: cost of the TEAS). Schools set their own price when you test on campus. Two attempts at $120 is $240 before tax, and three is $360, so the cheapest retake is the one you don't need. Every fee by testing site is in how much the TEAS test costs.

What happens if you fail the TEAS twice?

There is no national "fail": you fall short of one program's minimum. What a second miss means depends on that program's attempt limit.

  1. You have attempts left. Book the next one after the program's wait, and only once practice scores are clearly above the minimum (the plan below).
  2. You've used this cycle's attempts. Most limits reset: per cycle, per calendar year, or per 12 months. Mark the reset date and the next application deadline, and work back from them.
  3. Remediation is required. Northwestern Oklahoma State and Southwestern College ask for remediation before a retake. Ask what counts (a course, a prep program, a tutor) before you pay for anything.
  4. Apply where the rules fit. A program that counts your highest score, or allows four a year, may accept a score that another won't. Compare published minimums in program minimums.
  5. Check the other exam. Some programs accept the HESI A2 instead of the TEAS. A HESI score is a different test with its own limits; see HESI A2 vs TEAS.

ATI says that about 40% of students take the TEAS more than once (ATI: how to improve your score). Needing a second attempt is common; walking into it with the same preparation is the mistake.

Should you retake the TEAS?

Answer these four before you book:

QuestionIf yesIf no
Is your score below your program's minimum (overall or a section)?Retake, after a planGo on to the next question
Does your program rank applicants by TEAS score?A higher score can still helpAbove the minimum may be enough
Does the program count your highest score?Little risk in retakingA worse day could replace a better score
Is there time for the wait, the attempt and the score report before the deadline?Book itAim for the next cycle

Programs that rank applicants often admit well above their minimum. If your program ranks, ask the admissions office what scores recent classes had; some publish it. The TEAS score calculator shows how far each section is from the number you need.

A 30-day plan for your TEAS retake

Thirty days fits the most common waiting period. The plan starts from your score report, because it already says where your points went: ATI's Individual Performance Profile shows a score for each section and content area (ATI: Individual Performance Profile).

DaysWhat to doTime a day
1–2Write down each section score against your program's minimum. Circle the two content areas furthest below, weighted by how many questions they carry (anatomy and physiology is 18 science questions, numbers and algebra 18 math).45 min
3–12Work only on those two areas: learn the topic, then 15–20 practice questions a day, and write why each miss was wrong.60–90 min
13A timed set for the weakest section at the real pace (math 90 seconds a question, science 72, reading about 73, English 60).60 min
14–22The next two weak areas, same method. Keep 10 mixed questions a day from the first two so they stay.60–90 min
23One full timed practice test, all four sections, 209 minutes, in one sitting.3.5 hours
24–28Review every miss from the full test by content area. Redo the questions you missed without looking at the answer.60 min
29Light review of your error notes. Check your ID, login and test-day rules.30 min
30Test day.

Book the retake only if the full practice test on day 23 clears your program's minimum in every section it counts, with some room. If it doesn't, move the date (check the reschedule rules first) rather than spend an attempt. For a longer runway, use the four-week TEAS plan; for the hardest section, how to study TEAS science.

Not sure which content areas cost you points, or your report is gone? Our free TEAS practice test is 15 questions across the four sections, scored against your program's minimum, with the reason for every answer.

Mistakes that waste a TEAS attempt

TEAS retake FAQ

Can you take the TEAS as many times as you want?

ATI doesn't limit attempts, but your program almost certainly does. In our list, limits run from first attempt only (College of the Canyons) to four a year (Ivy Tech, Dallas College).

How soon can you retake the TEAS?

ATI asks you to wait 48 hours before you schedule a retake through ATI. Programs commonly require 30 days between attempts; some ask for 14, 45 or 60.

Do nursing schools see all your TEAS attempts?

Programs that cap attempts count every sitting in their window, and many ask for official reports through ATI. Assume a program can see how many times you tested, and read its rule on which score it uses.

Does retaking the TEAS look bad?

The programs in our list don't say they penalize a retake within their limit; they set limits, waits and which score counts. ATI says about 40% of students test more than once.

How long are TEAS scores good for?

Each program sets it: 365 days at Pikes Peak, two years at Dallas College and St. Louis CC, three years at Northern Virginia, and no expiry at Joliet Junior College.

Sources

More guides: what TEAS score you need, TEAS test cost, how to study for the TEAS, or all guides. Before you book the next attempt, take the free practice test to see which sections are still short.